About Grants

NIH Recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

The Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, established by President Clinton in 1996, is the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Recipients are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and for their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

The awards embody the high priority placed by the government on maintaining the leadership position of the United States in science by producing outstanding scientists and engineers who will broadly advance science and the missions important to the participating agencies. The awards support the continued development of the awardees, foster innovative and far-reaching developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the nation's future.

To be eligible for a Presidential Award, an individual must be a U.S. citizen, national or permanent resident. After receiving recommendations from participating federal agencies, the White House will confer the awards each year. Selection criteria and processes are dependent upon the agency.

The participating agencies are:

Department of Agriculture
Department of Commerce
Department of Defense
Department of Education
Department of Energy
Department of Health and Human Services
Department of the Interior
Department of Veterans Affairs
Environmental Protection Agency
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
National Science Foundation
The Intelligence Community

Public Announcements

2013 Recipients

Dr. Hillel Adesnik (University of California, Berkeley1DP2NS087725-01
For studies on cortical function and neurological disorders.

Dr. Samantha Brugmann (Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center1R01DE023804-01
For studies on the developmental processes essential to craniofacial development.

Dr. Namandje Bumpus (Johns Hopkins University1R01GM103853-01
For studies to investigate the mechanisms underlying the hepatotoxicity of antiretroviral drugs.

Dr. Kafui Dzirasa (Duke University1R01MH099192-01
For studies of large scale neural network interactions that may shed light on the pathophysiology of affective disorders.

Dr. Camilla Forsberg (University of California, Santa Cruz1R01DK100917-01
For studies to understand the mechanisms that regulate stem cell fate decisions.

Dr. Tina Goldstein (University of Pittsburgh1R01MH100056-01A
For studies to develop and test therapies for adolescents with bipolar disorder to target mood symptoms and suicidality.

Dr. Viviana Gradinaru (California Institute of Technology1DP2NS087949-01
For studies on the architecture of neuron-communication in the brain.

Dr. Jordan J. Green (Johns Hopkins University1R01EB016721-01
For studies to develop nanoparticles for delivery of therapeutic DNA to brain cancer cells.

Dr. Katie Kindt (National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders1ZIADC000085-01
For studies on disorders in mechanosensation, such as hearing, balance, and touch.

Dr. Andre Larochelle (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute1ZIAHL006172-01
For studies on regenerative therapies for inherited blood disorders.

Dr. Jennifer Lorvick (Research Triangle Institute International1R01MD007679-01 
For studies to understand how criminal justice involvement contributes to health disparities among illicit drug using African American women.

Dr. Courtney Miller (The Scripps Research Institute1R01DA034116-01A1
For studies on the prevention of substance abuse relapse triggered by drug-associated memory.

Dr. Kiran Musunuru (Harvard University1R01HL118744-01
For studies to understand the genetics of cardiovascular disease.

Dr. David J. Pagliarini (University of Wisconsin- Madison1R01DK098672-01
For studies to examine the mitochondrial proteome during the development of obesity and diabetes.

Dr. Sachin Patel (Vanderbilt University1R01MH100096-01
For studies on the treatment of anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorders.

Dr. Amy Ralston (Michigan State University1R01GM104009-01A1
For studies to reveal insight into mammalian early development and stem cell establishment.

Dr. Ervin Sejdic (University of Pittsburgh1R01HD074819-01
For studies to address a significant problem in those suffering from stroke, namely Dysphagia (or swallowing impairment).

Dr. Elizabeth Skidmore (University of Pittsburgh1R01HD074693-01A1
For studies to examine the influences of cognitive and affective impairments on neurorehabilitation outcomes.

Dr. Kay Maxine Tye (Massachusetts Institute of Technology1DP2DK102256-01
For studies to develop and apply methods to decipher and manipulate the neural circuitry underlying compulsive sugar intake to ameliorate behaviors leading to obesity.

Dr. Muhammad Walji (The University of Texas Health Science Center Houston1R01DE022628-01A1
For studies to improve the usability of electronic health records to mitigate critical use errors that may harm patients.


2012 PECASE recipients

The 2012 PECASE recipients for the Department of Health and Human Services met with Secretary Sebelius on April 14, 2014.  They were joined by Dr. James Anderson, Director of the Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives at NIH and Dr. Joanne Cono, Director of the Office of Science Quality at CDC.  From left to right: Dr. Andrew Goodman, Dr. Jeremy Clark, Dr. Sandra McAllister, Dr. Katherine Rauen, Dr. Sallie Permar, Dr. Gaby Maimon, Dr. Todd Macfarlan, Dr. Susan Harbison, Dr. Shingo Kajimura, Dr. Quyen Nguyen, Dr. Joanne Cono, Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, Dr. James Anderson, Dr. Richard Ho, Dr. Jessica Gill, Dr. Katherine Radek, Dr. Ida Spruill, Dr. Aron Hall, Dr. Young Kim, Dr. Xue Han, Dr. Debra Auguste, Dr. Jessica Belser, Dr. Damien Fair, Dr. Andreaa Creanga, Dr. Andrew Yoo, and Dr. Thomas Fazzio.

(Click on picture for larger image)

PECASE Awardees Archive
Archive Link Archive of Previous Years' PECASE Awardees

Note: For help accessing PDF, RTF, MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Audio or Video files, see Help Downloading Files.

This page last updated on May 18, 2016 
Content Manager: DDER@mail.nih.gov 
Technical Issues: E-mail OER Webmaster