Skip to main content

You are here

Division of Communication & Outreach (DCO)

Empowering the extramural research community, internal and external to NIH, to advance science by providing them with:

  • accurate and timely information on grant opportunities, policies, processes, and systems
  • insight into the NIH extramural leadership perspective

Key products and services supported by the office include:

Director – Megan Columbus
Deputy Director for Innovation and Technology – David Rosen


Rosalina Bray – Extramural Staff Training Officer
Sheri Cummins – Strategic Communications
Cynthia Dwyer – Outreach Coordinator
David Kosub, Ph.D. – Legislative, Communications
Elise Rabin – Writer Editor
David Rosen – Chief, Web Development
Manju Subramanya – eRA Communications and Documentation Manager
Elyse Sullivan, Ph.D. – Strategic Communications

Web Development and Technology Branch
Provides technical management and web development of numerous OER public and staff Web sites and system utilities that support the NIH grants process.

David Rosen – Chief
Frank Newman – Senior Web Developer
Michael DorseySenior Web Developer
Emrul Islam – Senior Web Developer
Mauricio Flores* – Web Developer
Abdul Khan*– System Administrator
Euna Kim* – Web Developer, Graphic Designer
Nancy Peck* – UX Strategist
Priyanka Sharma* – Web Developer
Arthi Sundararajan* – UX Designer
Vikram Sharma* – Web Developer
Alessio Van Keulen* – Web Developer

eRA Communications and Documentation Team

Manju Subramanya – eRA Communications and Documentation Manager
Bill McKenna* – eRA Documentation
Joe Schumaker – eRA Communications and Documentation
Teresa Toth-Fejel* – eRA Communications and Documentation

Content Development Team

Elyse Sullivan, Ph.D. – Team Lead
Sophie Dean – Social Media, Web Content
Monika Mahajani* – Communication Specialist 
Vicki VanArsdale* – Communication Specialist
Irene Ying* – Communications Specialist

OER Outreach

Cynthia Dwyer – Team Lead
Omar McCrimmon – Communications Specialist

Strategic Communications

Sheri Cummins – Team Lead
Jeffrey Harvey – Communications Specialist 

Extramural Staff Training

Rosalina Bray – NIH Staff Training Officer and Team Lead
Amanda Chin* – Instructional Design
Chloe James* – Program Coordinator
Sarah Shane  – Program Analyst
Joi Spraggins* – Project Manager, Communications
Cecelia Wright Brown* – Program Analyst

Contact Us
OER Communications Office
eRA Communications Office
OER Webmaster


This page last updated on June 22, 2021
Technical Issues: E-mail OER Webmaster