Skip to main content

You are here

NIH Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant Program (Parent R21 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required)

PA-20-196
PA-20-194
 
Contacts and Special Interests
Release Date: May 7, 2020
Expiration Date: May 8, 2023

R21 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required Participating Institutes and Centers   
 
  • NIH Institutes and Centers that accept Investigator-Initiated R01 applications in response to the Parent R01 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required Announcement  - (PA-19-092)NCCIH, NIA, NIAAA, NIDA, NIDCD, NIDCR, NIEHS, NIMH, NIMHD, NINR
NIH Institute or Center Contacts Scientific/Research Contact
Institute/Center Specific Information
Financial or Grants Management Contact
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) Wen G. Chen, MMSc, PhD
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

chenw@mail.nih.gov
301-451-3989
 
Shelley Carow
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

carows@mail.nih.gov
301.594.3788
 
National Eye Institute (NEI) Cheri Wiggs, PhD
National Eye Institute (NEI)
Telephone: 301-451-2020
Email: Cheri.Wiggs@nih.gov

NEI only accept Clinical Trial applications proposing mechanistic studies and those designated as minimal risk. Applicants are strongly advised to contact NEI staff before submitting Clinical Trial applications to this FOA.
Karen Robinson-Smith
National Eye Institute (NEI)
Telephone: 301-451-2020
Email: Karen.Robinson.Smith@nei.nih.gov
National Institute on Aging (NIA) Sanoj Suneja, Ph.D.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Phone: 301-402-7710
Email:
sunejas@mail.nih.gov
 
Traci Lafferty
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-496-8987
Email:
laffertt@nia.nih.gov
 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research
Gregory Bloss
Telephone: 301-443-3865
Email: gbloss@mail.nih.gov

Division of Medications Development Research
Joanne B. Fertig, Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-443-0635
Email: jfertig@mail.nih.gov


Division of Metabolism and Health Effects
Svetlana Radaeva, Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-443-1189
Email: sradaeva@mail.nih.gov

Division of Neuroscience and Behavior
John Matochik, Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-451-7319
Email: jmatochi@mail.nih.gov
Judy Fox
Telephone: 301-443-4704
Email: 
jfox@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Trinh T. Ly, M.D.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) 
Telephone: 301 496 5061
Email:
trinh.ly@nih.gov
Christopher Myers 
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Telephone: 301-435-0713 
Email:
myersc@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) Contact information can be found at: http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/Research/DER/ContactRA.htm
Integrative Biology and Infectious Diseases Branch
Nadya Lumelsky, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-594-7703
Email: 
nadyal@nidcr.nih.gov
Center for Clinical Research
Dena Fischer, DDS, MSD, MS
Phone: 301-594-4876
Email: 
fischerdj@nidcr.nih.gov
Translational Genomics Research Branch
Kathryn Stein, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-827-4653
Email: 
steink@nidcr.nih.gov 
Behavioral and Social Science Research Branch
Melissa Riddle, Ph.D.
Phone:  301-451-3888
Email: 
riddleme@nidcr.nih.gov
For current funding opportunities and contacts, see 
https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/grantsandfunding/FundingOpportunityAnnouncements/ByTopic.htm
Dede Rutberg, MBA
Chief Grants Management Officer
Phone: 301-594-4798
FAX: 301-480-3562
Email:
rutbergd@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Tracy Waldeck, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-827-5844
Email: 
tracy.waldeck@nih.gov
Pam Fleming
Telephone: 301.480.1159
Email: 
pfleming@nida.nih.gov
 
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)  Daniel Shaughnessy, Ph.D. 
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Telephone: 984-287-332
Email:
shaughn1@niehs.nih.gov
 
Michelle Victalino
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Telephone:  984-287-3336
Email: 
victalinom@niehs.nih.gov

Bryann Benton
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Telephone:  919-323-5577
Email: 
Bryann.Benton@nih.gov
 
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) NIMH Program Staff contacts
Also see Division web pages (below).
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Division web pages:
Terri Jarosik
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Telephone: (301) 443-3858
Email: tjarosik@mail.nih.gov
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD) Michael Sayre, PhD
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-435-0962
Email:
sayrem@mail.nih.gov
 
Priscilla Grant, JD
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-594-8412 
Email: 
grantp@mail.nih.gov
 
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) NINR Program Staff contacts, listed by content area, may be found at: http://www.ninr.nih.gov/ResearchAndFunding/DEA/OEP/AreasofscienceFile.htm
 
Brian Albertini
Telephone: 301-594-6869
Email:
albertib@mail.nih.gov
 
This page last updated on November 26, 2018
Technical Issues: E-mail OER Webmaster