Skip to main content

You are here

Research Project Grant (Parent R01 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required) (PA-20-184)


Contacts and Special Interests

Release Date: May 05, 2020
Expiration Date: May 8, 2023

R01 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required Participating Institutes and Centers
  • NIH Institutes and Centers that accept Investigator-Initiated R01 applications in response to the Parent R01 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required Announcement  - (PA-20-NNN)NCCIH, NIA, NIAAA, NIDA, NIDCD, NIDCR, NIEHS, NIMH, NIMHD, NINDS, NINR, NLM
  • NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT ACCEPT applications in response to the Parent R01 Basic Experimental Studies with Humans Required Announcement but ONLY accept R01 applications proposing clinical trial(s) in response to their specific funding opportunity announcements: NIDDK (PA-18-330)

NIH Institute or Center Contacts

Scientific/Research Contact
Institute/Center Specific Information

Financial or Grants Management Contact

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

Wen G. Chen, MMSc, PhD
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
chenw@mail.nih.gov
301-451-3989
 

Shelley Carow
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
carows@mail.nih.gov
301.594.3788
 

National Eye Institute (NEI)

Cheri Wiggs, PhD
National Eye Institute (NEI)
Telephone: 301-451-2020
Email: Cheri.Wiggs@nih.gov

NEI only accept Clinical Trial applications proposing mechanistic studies and those designated as minimal risk. Applicants are strongly advised to contact NEI staff before submitting Clinical Trial applications to this FOA.

Karen Robinson-Smith
National Eye Institute (NEI)
Telephone: 301-451-2020
Email: Karen.Robinson.Smith@nei.nih.gov

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Rene Etcheberrigaray, M.D.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-451-9798
Email: rene.etcheberrigaray@nih.gov

Traci Lafferty
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-496-8987
Email: laffertt@nia.nih.gov

 

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Gregory Bloss
Telephone: 301-443-3865
Email: gbloss@mail.nih.gov

Joanne B. Fertig, Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-443-0635
Email: jfertig@mail.nih.gov

Dale Hereld, M.D., Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-443-0912
Email: hereldd@mail.nih.gov

John Matochik, Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-451-7319
Email: jmatochi@mail.nih.gov

Judy Fox
Telephone: 301-443-4704
Email: jfox@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

Trinh T. Ly, M.D.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) 
Telephone: 301 496 5061
Email: trinh.ly@nih.gov

Christopher Myers 
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Telephone: 301-435-0713 
Email: myersc@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

Contact information can be found at: http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/Research/DER/ContactRA.htm
Integrative Biology and Infectious Diseases Branch
Nadya Lumelsky, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-594-7703
Email: nadyal@nidcr.nih.gov
Center for Clinical Research
Dena Fischer, DDS, MSD, MS
Phone: 301-594-4876
Email: fischerdj@nidcr.nih.gov
Translational Genomics Research Branch
Kathryn Stein, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-827-4653
Email: steink@nidcr.nih.gov 
Behavioral and Social Science Research Branch
Melissa Riddle, Ph.D.
Phone:  301-451-3888
Email: riddleme@nidcr.nih.gov
For current funding opportunities and contacts, see https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/grantsandfunding/FundingOpportunityAnnouncements/ByTopic.htm

Dede Rutberg, MBA
Chief Grants Management Officer
Phone: 301-594-4798
FAX: 301-480-3562
Email:rutbergd@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Tracy Waldeck, Ph.D.
Telephone: 301-827-5844
Email: tracy.waldeck@nih.gov

Pam Fleming
Telephone: 301-480-1159
Email: pfleming@nida.nih.gov
 

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) 

Kimberly McAllister, Ph.D.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Telephone: 984-287-3287
Email: mcallis2@niehs.nih.gov
 

James Williams
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Telephone: 984-287-3338
Email:williamsjr@niehs.nih.gov
 

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

NIMH Program Staff contacts
Also see Division web pages (below).
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Division web pages:

Terri Jarosik
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Telephone: (301) 443-3858                          Email: tjarosik@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)

Michael Sayre, PhD
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-435-0962
Email: sayrem@mail.nih.gov
 

Priscilla Grant, JD
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-594-8412 
Email:  grantp@mail.nih.gov
 

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Karrah Benson
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
E-mail: karrah.benson@nih.gov
 

Chief Grants Management Officer
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
Email: ChiefGrantsManagementOfficer@ninds.nih.gov

 

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) will accept applications for projects in areas that are mission-relevant (http://www.ninr.nih.gov/AboutNINR/NINRMissionandStrategicPlan/). Please contact the NINR Program Director listed in the area of science in which you are interested. NINR Program Staff contacts may be found at: https://www.ninr.nih.gov/researchandfunding/desp/oep/areasofscience

Brian Albertini
Telephone: 301-594-6869
Email: albertib@mail.nih.gov
 

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

NLM Scientific/Research Contacts, listed by program portfolio, may be found at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/ep/GrantResearchParent.html  

Samantha Tempchin
Telephone: 301-496-4221
Email: tempchins@mail.nih.gov
 

 

 
 
 
This page last updated on May 18, 2020
Technical Issues: E-mail OER Webmaster