NIH Operates Under a Continuing Resolution
Notice Number:

Key Dates

Release Date:

December 28, 2022

Related Announcements

NOT-OD-23-050 - NIH Operates Under a Continuing Resolution

NOT-OD-23-005 - NIH Operates Under a Continuing Resolution

NOT-OD-22-132 - Correction to Stipend Levels for Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Stipends, Tuition/Fees and Other Budgetary Levels Effective for Fiscal Year 2022

NOT-OD-22-117 - Notice of Legislative Mandates in Effect for FY 2022

NOT-OD-22-076- Guidance on Salary Limitation for Grants and Cooperative Agreements

Issued by



The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), including National Institutes of Health (NIH), operates under the Further Additional Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act (H.R. 4373) signed by President Biden on December 23, 2022. This Act (CR) continues government operations through December 30, 2022, at the Fiscal Year (FY) 2022 enacted level, with no reduction.

Continuing the procedures identified under NOT-OD-22-015 and consistent with NIH practices during the CRs of FYs 2006 - 2022, NIH Institutes and/or Centers may, at their discretion, issue non-competing research grant awards at a level below that indicated on the most recent Notice of Award. Upward adjustments to awarded levels will be considered after FY 2023 appropriations are enacted, but NIH expects institutions to monitor their expenditures carefully during this period. All legislative mandates that were in effect in FY 2022 (see NOT-OD-22-117) remain in effect under this CR, as well as the salary limitation set at Executive Level II of the Federal Pay Scale (see NOT-OD-22-076) and the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award predoctoral and postdoctoral stipend levels and tuition/fees as described in NOT-OD-22-132.

The current salary cap levels remain the same until the Executive Salary Levels change; typically, January 2023.


Questions regarding adjustments applied to individual grant awards may be directed to the Grants Management Specialist identified in the Notice of Award.