Notice of NIBIB's Participation in PA-18-722 "Improving Patient Adherence to Treatment and Prevention Regimens to Promote Health (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)"

Notice Number: NOT-EB-18-014

Key Dates
Release Date: April 30, 2018

Related Announcements
PA-18-722

Issued by
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Purpose

The purpose of this Notice is to inform potential applicants that the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) will participate, effective immediately, in PA-18-722
"Improving Patient Adherence to Treatment and Prevention Regimens to Promote Health (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)."

The following changes and updates are made to PA-18-722 (shown in italics) to reflect NIBIB participation in this FOA.

Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) Number(s)
 93.242, 93.361, 93.213, 93.273, 93.393, 93.866, 93.855, 93.279, 93.307, 93.286

Part 2. Full Text of Announcement

Section I. Funding Opportunity Description

Research Objectives

  • The National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) is interested in supporting research that improves adherence strategies through technological development and accelerating the application of biomedical technologies. Areas of interest include the development of enabling technologies that emphasize the integration of wireless technologies with human and biological interfaces. The NIBIB is committed to integrating engineering with the life and physical science to advance basic research and medical care. 

Section VII. Agency Contacts

Scientific/Research Contact(s)

Wendy Nelson, PhD, MPH
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Telephone:  240-276-6971
Email: nelsonw@mail.nih.gov

Lisa Onken, PhD
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-496-3136
Email: lisa.onken@nih.gov

Brett T. Hagman, PhD
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Telephone: 301-443-0638
Email: brett.hagman@nih.gov

Usha Sharma, PhD
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Telephone: 240-292-4809
Email: usharma@niaid.nih.gov

Will M. Aklin, PhD
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Telephone: 301-443-3207
Email: aklinwm@nida.nih.gov

Michael C. Freed, Ph.D., EMT-B
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Telephone: 301-443-3747
Email: michael.freed@nih.gov

Karen Huss, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAAN, FAAAAI, FAHA
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Email: hussk@mail.nih.gov
Telephone: 301-594-5970

Derrick C. Tabor, PhD
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-594-8950
Email: derrick.tabor@nih.gov

Lanay M. Mudd, PhD, FACSM
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Telephone: 301-594-9346
Email: lanay.mudd@mail.nih.gov

Deborah Young-Hyman, PhD
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)
Phone: 301-451-0724
Email: deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov

Tiffani Bailey Lash, Ph.D.
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering NIBIB
Telephone: 301-451-4778

Email: baileylasht@mail.nih.gov

OBSSR does not award grants. Please contact one of the IC program contacts listed below for questions regarding funding interest.

Financial/Grants Management Contact(s)

Carol A. Perry
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Telehone: 240-276-6282
Email: perryc@mail.nih.gov

Nia Pree
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Phone: 301-827-6374
Email: nia.pree@nih.gov

Judy Fox
National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Telephone: 301-443-4704
Email:  jfox@mail.nih.gov

Ann Devine
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Telephone: 240-669-2988
Email: adevine@niaid.nih.gov

Ericka Wells
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Telephone: 301-827-6705
Email: wellse2@nida.nih.gov

Tamara Kees
National Institute on Mental Health (NIMH)
Telephone: 301-443-8811
Email: tkees@mail.nih.gov

Ron Wertz
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Telephone: 301-594-2807
Email: wertzr@mail.nih.gov

Priscilla Grant, JD
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-594-8412 
Email: pg38h@nih.gov

Shelley Carow
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Telephone: 301-594-3788
Email: carows@mail.nih.gov    

Angelos Bacas
NIBIB Grants Management Specialist
Telephone: 301-451-4785
Email: ab329b@nih.gov

All other aspects of this FOA remain the same.

Inquiries

Please direct all inquiries to:

Tiffani Bailey Lash, Ph.D.
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering NIBIB
Telephone: 301-451-4778
Email: baileylasht@mail.nih.gov