Certificates of Confidentiality Contacts at NIH and Other DHHS Agencies that issue Certificates

Below is a list of Certificate Coordinators at NIH and other DHHS agencies who can be contacted for additional information about Certificates of Confidentiality.

At NIH, Certificates of Confidentiality are issued by individual NIH Institutes/Centers (ICs). If your research is funded by NIH, please direct your Certificate application to the funding IC.  If your research is health-related but is not federally funded and not under the FDA authority, the NIH IC that supports similar research can likely consider your request.  However, please verify this with the appropriate IC coordinator before submitting an application. If you are unsure about which IC is most appropriate for your research topic, you may contact the NIH Central Coordinator at NIH-COC-Coordinator@mail.nih.gov.

Starting in April 2015, NIH implemented an online application system for all CoC requests.  Please follow the instructions on the CoC Kiosk Web site http://grants.nih.gov/grants/policy/coc/index.htm ).

To request an amendment or extension to an existing NIH CoC, please send an email to the Coordinator at the IC that issued your Certificate explaining your need for an amendment or extension.

CoCs are also issued by several other DHHS agencies (CDC, FDA, HRSA, IHS, SAMHSA).  If your research is funded by one of these agencies or is operating under the authority of the FDA, please go to the end of this list to find contact information for CoCs for these agencies.

Central Resources for Certificates at NIH:


Office of Extramural Research

For general questions about Certificates of Confidentiality, Certificates for non-NIH funded research, or NIH policies related to Certificates of Confidentiality:

Ann Hardy, DrPH
NIH Office of Extramural Research
Email: NIH-CoC-Coordinator@mail.nih.gov

Office of the General Counsel, Public Health Division, NIH

For advice about possible legal challenges to existing Certificates of Confidentiality or other related legal issues:

Kate Tapley J.D.
DHHS Office of General Counsel
Public Health Division, NIH Branch
Email:Kate.Tapley@nih.gov

 
Certificate Coordinators at NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs):


FIC     
http://www.fic.nih.gov/

Barbara Sina, Ph.D.
Fogarty International Center
Phone: 301-402-9467
Email: sinab@mail.nih.gov

NCCIH     
http://www.NCCIH.nih.gov
 

Ashlee Tipton Ph.D.
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health
Phone: 301-451-3849
Email: nccamcoc@mail.nih.gov

NCI     
http://www.nci.nih.gov/

Samson Adepoju
National Cancer Institute
Phone: 240-276-5660
Email: adepojus@mail.nih.gov

NCATS
http://www.ncats.nih.gov/
 

For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:
Donna Jones
CoC Coordinator
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Phone: (301) 594-4734
Email: Jonesdc@mail.nih.gov
For scientific questions regarding your application, please contact:
David Wilde, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Officer
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
Phone: 301-435-0799
E-mail: wilded@mail.nih.gov

NEI       
http://www.nei.nih.gov/     
 

Ellen Liberman, Ph.D.
National Eye Institute
Phone: (301)451-2020
Email: Ellen.liberman@nih.gov

NHGRI
http://www.nhgri.nih.gov/

For scientific or programmatic policy questions regarding your application, please contact:

Laura Lyman Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Policy, Communications and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute
Phone: 301-594-7185
Email:
For questions regarding the application process, for extensions of existing Certificates, or for status of a submitted application, please contact:

Alice S. Bailey
National Human Genome Research Institute
Phone: (301) 443-1847
Email:

NHLBI
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/index.htm

Donna Jones
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Phone: (301) 594-4734
Email: Jonesdc@mail.nih.gov

NIA     
http://www.nia.nih.gov/

Robin A. Barr, Ph.D.
National Institute on Aging
Phone: 301-496-9322
Email: BarrR@nia.nih.gov

NIAAA
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/

Isabel Ellis, MSW
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
Phone: 301-443-8771      
Email: iellis@mail.nih.gov

NIAID 
http://www.niaid.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Diane Adger-Johnson
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Phone: 240-669-2924
Email: NIAIDCertificates@mail.nih.gov

NIAMS
http://www.niams.nih.gov/

Leslie Littlejohn
National Institute for Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Phone: (301) 594-2545
Email:   littlele@mail.nih.gov
Steven Austin
National Institute for Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Phone: 301-594-3504
E-mail: austins2@mail.nih.gov

NICHD
http://www.nichd.nih.gov/

Steven Hirschfeld, MD PhD
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Phone: 301-496-0044
hirschfs@mail.nih.gov

NIDA  
http://www.nida.nih.gov/

For scientific questions regarding an application, please contact:
Nadine Rogers, PhD, MS, PMP
NIDA Certificate Coordinator
(301) 443-2105
Rogersn2@nida.nih.gov
For application process and status questions, please contact:
Natisha Rowe
Administrator
NIDACertofConfident@mail.nih.gov

NIDCD
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/

Craig A. Jordan, Ph.D.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
Phone: 301-496-8693
Email: jordanc@nih.gov

NIDCR
http://www.nidr.nih.gov/

Cynthia Boucher, M.S.
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
Phone: 301-594-4820
Email: cynthia.boucher@nih.gov
 

NIDDK
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/

Francisco O. Calvo, Ph.D.
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Tel:  301-594-8897
Email:  calvof@extra.niddk.nih.gov

NIEHS
http://www.niehs.nih.gov/
 

For scientific questions regarding your application, please contact:
Kimberly Gray, Ph.D.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Phone: 919-541-0293
Email: kg89o@nih.gov
For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:
Martha I. Barnes, MS
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Phone: 919-541-3336
Email: barnes@niehs.nih.gov
 

NIGMS
http://www.nigms.nih.gov/

Paul A. Sheehy, Ph.D.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Phone: 301-594-4499
Email: sheehyp@mail.nih.gov
 
or
Ann A. Hagan, Ph.D.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Phone: 301-594-3910
Email: hagana@nigms.nih.gov

NIMH  
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/
 

Eugene I. Kane III, M.P.H.
National Institute of Mental Health
Email: Eugene.Kane@nih.gov

For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:
Yasamin Moghadam [C] M.S.
National Institute of Mental Health
Email: yasamin.moghadam@nih.gov

NIMHD
http://www.nimhd.nih.gov/

Joyce A. Hunter, Ph.D.
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
Phone: (301) 402-1366
Email: NIMHDCertificateof
Confidentiality@mail.nih.gov

NINDS
http://www.ninds.nih.gov/
 

Joanna Vivalda, RN, MBA, CCRA
National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke
Phone: (301) 496-9135
Email: joanna.vivalda@nih.gov

NINR  
http://www.ninr.nih.gov/
 

For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:

Donna Jones
CoC Coordinator
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Phone: (301) 594-4734
Email: Jonesdc@mail.nih.gov

For scientific questions regarding your application, please contact:

Ann R. Knebel, RN, PhD, FAAN
National Institute of Nursing Research
Phone: 301-469-8230
Email: knebelar@mail.nih.gov

NLM  
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/

Dr. Hua-Chuan Sim
National Library of Medicine
Phone: 301-594-4882
Email: simh@mail.nih.gov

or

Dr. Valerie Florance
National Library of Medicine
Phone: 301-496-4621

Email: florancev@nih.gov

Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center
http://www.cc.nih.gov/

Virginia Guptill, Ph.D.
NIH Clinical Center
Phone: 301-451-7608
Email: Virginia.guptill@nih.gov


Contacts for Certificates at other DHHS Agencies:


CDC
http://www.cdc.gov

Office of Scientific Integrity
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA 30333
Phone: 404-639-7570

FDA
http://www.fda.gov

For all investigational new drug products associated with an IND :
Sherry George
Program Analyst
Food and Drug Administration
Division of Safety Compliance- Human Subjects Protection Branch
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
White Oak, Building 51, Room 5331
Silver Spring, MD 20993
Phone: (301) 796-3403- Direct line
Main Line: (301)796-3150
Fax: (301)847-8748
Email- sherry.george@fda.hhs.gov
or
Anthony HawkinsConsumer Safety Officer
FDA/CBER/Office of Compliance and Biologics Quality
10903 New Hampshire Avenue, Building 71, Room 5132
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
Phone: 240-402-8950 or 240-402-9159
Email: anthony.hawkins@fda.hhs.gov or OCBQ-DIS-BMB-VMAIL

HRSA
http://www.hrsa.gov

Jessica Preusch
Office of Planning, Analysis and Evaluation
Health Resources and Services Administration
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 10-49
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: (301) 443-8474
Email: jpreusch@hrsa.gov

IHS
http://www.ihs.gov/Research/

Mose A. Herne, MPH, MS
Director, Division of Planning, Evaluation, and Research Office of Public Health Support Indian Health Service
801 Thompson Ave, Suite TMP 450
Rockville, MD 20852
PH: (301) 443-1549
Fax: (301) 443-0114
Email: Mose.Herne@ihs.gov

SAMHSA
http://www.samhsa.gov/Grants/certconf.aspx

Summer King
Statistician
CBHSQ/DEASR
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 2-1057
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 240-276-1243
Email: summer.king@samhsa.hhs.gov