Notice of Information: Parallel Funding Initiative for Collaborative Research Between Investigators in the USA and in the State of São Paulo, Brazil

Notice Number: NOT-TW-16-001

Key Dates
Release Date:  January 12, 2016

Related Announcements
PA-16-160
PA-13-302    

Issued by
Fogarty International Center (FIC)
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
National Eye Institute (NEI)
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
National Institute on Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

Purpose

The National Institute of Health (NIH) and the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP), Brazil, have signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to encourage collaborative international research between investigators in the US and in the State of São Paulo. The two funding agencies intend to jointly support (parallel funding) successful R01 applications to the NIH that fall within research areas of mutual interest, including single disciplinary and cross-disciplinary approaches and topics. The areas of interest include the mission areas of the participating NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs), named above. Descriptions of their areas of interest can be found on the website links provided. Any application falling outside these areas will undergo the standard review process at NIH but will not be eligible for parallel funding. Inquiries about the suitability of proposed projects for each IC can be directed to the Point of Contact at each participating IC, as listed below. Only applications to the NIH parent R01 (PA-13-302 and subsequent reissuances) will be considered for this opportunity at this time.

Instructions to Applicants

1. Applications eligible for parallel funding under this initiative must include at least one Program Director/Principal Investigator (PD/PI) from an institution in the State of São Paulo who is eligible for funding by FAPESP and one PD/PI from the US who is eligible for funding by NIH. The multiple PD/PI (MPI) option should be used. Any MPI may submit the application as the contact PD/PI. If the application is chosen for parallel support, the US PD/PI and their institution will become the contact PD/PI for NIH, and the São Paulo PD/PI will become the contact PD/PI for FAPESP. There may also be other collaborators from anywhere in the world.

2. Applicants should send a summary of the proposed project (such as the abstract for the NIH application) to FAPESP Science Manager Dr. Simone Godoi at chamada_nih@fapesp.br to confirm their eligibility at least four weeks prior to submission of the application to NIH.

3. Applicants should indicate their interest in being considered for this opportunity and acknowledge their understanding that any award from NIH may be split and funded in parallel through a linked FAPESP award by writing "We would like this application to be considered under the NIH-FAPESP Funding Initiative. FAPESP has confirmed that the São Paulo PD/PI is eligible for this initiative." at the end of the Specific Aims.

4. Processing of the application at NIH will follow standard NIH receipt and referral guidelines and review.  If the application is referred to one of the participating NIH ICs, it will be considered for parallel support after both levels of NIH peer review and just prior to award. The application will only undergo review at the NIH. Applicants should follow normal guidance for an NIH application, including rules regarding foreign applications or applications with foreign components.

5. The applicant will be asked to forward their NIH summary statement and full application to FAPESP following peer review, within one week of receiving their summary statement, if they wish to be further considered for parallel support. If an award is made, additional documents, reformatting, or re-budgeting may be required by either agency.

6. Applicants will be notified per normal NIH procedure whether they are being considered for an NIH award and the administering NIH IC will indicate whether the award will be funded in parallel by FAPESP.

Inquiries

General inquiries about this initiative should be directed to:
Kevin Bialy, MAA
Fogarty International Center (FIC)
Telephone: 301-496-6273
Email: Kevin.Bialy@nih.gov

Subject matter inquiries should be directed to the Point of Contact at the relevant Institute or Center.
Paul C Pearlman, PhD
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Telephone: 240-276-5354
Email: paul.pearlman@nih.gov

Lisa Neuhold, PhD
National Eye Institute (NEI)
Telephone: 301-451-2020
Email: Lisa.Neuhold@nih.gov

Jeffery Schloss, PhD
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
Telephone: 301-496-7531
Email: Jeffery.Schloss@nih.gov           

John Haaga, PhD
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Telephone: 301-496-3131
Email: John.Haaga@nih.gov

Margaret M. Murray, PhD
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Telephone: 301-443-2594
Email: pmurray@mail.nih.gov

Margarita R. Ossorio Goldman, M.Sc
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Telephone: 301-451-2597
Email: Margarita.Ossorio@niaid.nih.gov

Laura K. Moen, PhD
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
Telephone: 301-451-6515
Email: moenl@mail.nih.gov

Christine A. Kelley, PhD
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
Telephone: 301-451-4778
Email: kelleyc@mail.nih.gov

Rohan Hazra, MD
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Telephone: 301-435-6868
Email: Rohan.Hazra@nih.gov

Lana Shekim, PhD
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Telephone: 301-496-5061
Email: shekiml@nidcd.nih.gov

Emily L. Harris, PhD, MPH
National Institute on Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
Telephone: 301-594-4846
Email: emily.harris@nih.gov

Andrew Bremer, MD, PhD
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
Telephone: 301-402-7886
Email: Andrew.Bremer@nih.gov

Steve Gust, PhD
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Telephone: 301-402-1118
Email: Steve.Gust@nih.gov

Michael Humble, PhD
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Telephone: 919-316-4621
Email: humble@niehs.nih.gov

Charles G. Edmonds, PhD
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Telephone: 301-594-4428
Email: edmondsc@nigms.nih.gov

Beverly Pringle, PhD
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Telephone: 301-443-3725
Email: Beverly.Pringle@nih.gov

Claudia Moy, PhD
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
Telephone: 301-496-9135
Email:  MoyC@ninds.nih.gov

Mary Roary, PhD
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Telephone: (301) 594-2154
Email: mary.roary@mail.nih.gov

Rick Berzon, DrPH, PA
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
Telephone: 301-594-8949
Email: rick.berzon@nih.gov

Valerie Florance, PhD
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Telephone: 301-496-4621
Email: florancev@mail.nih.gov

Flora Katz, PhD
Fogarty International Center (FIC)
Telephone: 301-402-9591
Email: Flora.Katz@nih.gov

John S. Williamson, PhD
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Telephone: 301-496-2583
Email: john.williamson@nih.gov

NIH Office of Extramural Research Logo
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) - Home Page
Department of Health
and Human Services (HHS)
USA.gov - Government Made Easy
NIH... Turning Discovery Into Health®


Note: For help accessing PDF, RTF, MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Audio or Video files, see Help Downloading Files.