Grants and Funding
Academic Research Enhancement Award (Parent R15) (PA-12-006)
Contacts and Special Interests
Release Date: November 2, 2011
Expiration Date: January 08, 2015

R15 Participating Institutes and Centers

R15 Non-Participating Institutes and Centers
  • NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT use the R15 mechanism: FIC, NCATS, NIMHD
NIH AREA Grant Research Objectives

NIH AREA Grant Research Objectives – Listing of AREA program research topics of particular interest to each Institute/Center.

Electronic Submission
Electronic Submission – NIH will require electronic submission of the SF424 (R&R) form through Grants.gov to NIH for all R15 grant applications. Institutions must register in two separate systems: Grants.gov and eRA Commons Project Directors/Principal Investigators also must be registered in eRA Commons.

NIH Institute and Center Contacts
NIH Institute/Center

Scientific/Research Contact

Financial or Grants
Management Contact

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)

Alberto L. Rivera-Rentas, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 443-8372
Email: riverara@mail.nih.gov

George Tucker
Phone: 301-594 9102  
Email: tuckerg@mail.nih.gov

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Dr. Christopher L. Hatch
Phone: 240-276-6454
Email: ch29v@nih.gov

Crystal Wolfrey
Phone: 240-276-6277
Email: wolfreyc@mail.nih.gov

National Eye Institute (NEI)

Dr. Jerome Wujek
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: wujekjer@nei.nih.gov

None

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

Bettie J. Graham, Ph.D.
Phone: 301-496 7531
Email: Bettie_graham@nih.gov

Cheryl Chick
Phone: 301- 435-7858
Email: chickc@mail.nih.gov

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Dr. Helena Mishoe
Phone: 301-451-5081
Email: mishoeh@nhlbi.nih.gov

Suzanne White
Phone: 301-435-0144
Email: whitesa@nhlbi.nih.gov

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Dr. Robin Barr
Phone: 301-496-9322
Email: BarrR@mail.nih.gov

Linda Whipp
Phone: 301-496-1472
Email: whippL@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Dr. H. Joe Wang
Phone: 301-451-0747
Email: Wangh4@mail.nih.gov

Judy Fox
Phone: 301-443-4704
Email: jfox@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

NIAID AI Training Help Desk
AITrainingHelpDesk@niaid.nih.gov

Lauren Early
Phone: 301-451-2551
Email: earlyle@niaid.nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)

Dr. Bernadette Tyree
Phone: 301-594-5055
tyreeb@mail.nih.gov

Teresa Do
Phone: 301-594-3512
Email: dote@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Zeynep Erim, PhD
Phone: 301-451-4797
erimz@mail.nih.gov

Florence Turska
Phone: 301-451-4782
Email: turskaf@mail.nih.gov

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Program staff contacts may be found on the web pages for NICHD's scientific branches at: http://www.nichd.nih.gov/about/org/der/branches/Pages/index.aspx and http://www.nichd.nih.gov/about/org/ncmrr/Pages/overview.aspx.

Bryan S. Clark, M.B.A
Chief Grants Management Officer
Phone: 301-435-6975
FAX: 301- 451-5510
Email: clarkb1@mail.nih

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Dr. Mark Swieter
Phone: 301-435-1389
Email: mswieter@nida.nih.gov
Pam Fleming
Phone: 301-253-8729
E-mail: pfleming@nida.nih.gov

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

Dr. Christopher Platt
Phone: 301-496-1804
Email: plattc@nidcd.nih.gov

Christopher Myers
Phone: 301-402-0909
Email: myersc@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

Dr. Alicia Dombroski
Phone: 301-594-4805
Email: adombroski@mail.nih.gov

Diana Rutberg, MBA
Phone: 301-594-4798
Email: rutbergd@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

Dr. Brent Stanfield
Phone: 301-594-8834
Email: stanfibr@niddk.nih.gov

None

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) 

Dr. Lisa Helbling Chadwick
Phone: 850-727-7218
Email: ChadwickL@niehs.nih.gov

Dorothy Duke
Phone:  919-541-2749
Email:  duke3@niehs.nih.gov

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

Dr. Jean Chin
Phone: 301-594-2485
Email: chinj@nigms.nih.gov

None

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Dr. Jean Noronha
Phone: 301-443-3367
Email: jnoronha@mail.nih.gov

Rebecca Claycamp, M.S., C.R.A.
Phone: 301-443-2811
Email: rclaycam@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Dr. Michelle Jones-London
Phone: 301-451-7966
Email: jonesmiche@ninds.nih.gov

Tijuanna DeCoster, MPA
Phone: 301-496-9231
E-mail: decostert@ninds.nih.gov

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

Dr Martha Matocha
Phone: 301-594-2775
Email: matocham@mail.nih.gov

Brian Albertini
Phone: 301-594-6869
Email: albertib@mail.nih.gov

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

For Clinical and Public Health Informatics:
Dr. Hua-Chuan Sim
Email: simh@mail.nih.gov

For Bioinformatics and Translational Informatics:
Dr. Jane Ye
Email: yej@mail.nih.gov

For Consumer Health Informatics:
Dr. Alan VanBiervliet
Phone: 301-594-1297
Email: alan.vanbiervliet@nih.gov

Dwight Mowery
Phone: 301-496-4221
E-mail:  moweryd@mail.nih.gov

Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP)

Dr. Miguel A. Contreras
Phone: 301-594-9410
Email: miguel.contreras@nih.gov

None

NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT use the R15 mechanism: FIC, NCATS, NIMHD

NIH Institute/Center

Scientific/Research Contact

Financial or Grants Management Contact

Fogarty International Center (FIC)

None

None

National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

None

None

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)

None

None



This page last updated on May 2, 2014
Content Manager: R151@mail.nih.gov 
Technical Issues: E-mail OER Webmaster