NIH Support for Conferences and Scientific Meetings (Parent R13) (PA-16-294)

PA-16-294

Contacts and Special Interests

Release Date: May 26, 2016
Expiration Date: May 8, 2019

Introduction

R13 Participating Institutes and Centers
R13 Non-Participating Institutes and Centers
  • NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT ACCEPT Investigator-Initiated applications in response to the Parent R13 Announcement: FIC, NIMH, NINR 
NIH Institute and Center Contacts and Scientific Research Areas of Interest

NIH Institute/Center

Scientific/Research Contact

Financial or Grants
Management Contact

National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

Ruba Tashman
Phone: 301-435-0827
Email:  Ruba.Tashman@nih.gov
http://ncats.nih.gov/

Irene Marie Haas
Phone: 301-435-0836
Email:  grissomi@mail.nih.gov

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

Ashlee Tipton, PhD
Phone: 301-451-3849
Email: ashlee.tipton@nih.gov

Due to budgetary constraints, NCCIH/NCCIH places its highest priority on providing funds for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and/or newly appointed faculty members to participate in meetings. In most cases, no NCCIH/NCCIH funding will be provided for room rental, publication costs, and speakers' fees or expenses

Shelley Carow
Phone: 301-594-3788
Email: carows@mail.nih.gov

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

David Contois
Phone: 240-276-6447
Email: ncirefof@dea.nci.nih.gov
http://deainfo.nci.nih.gov/flash/awards.htm

Crystal Wolfrey
Phone: 240-276-6277
Email: wolfreyc@mail.nih.gov

National Eye Institute (NEI)

Dr. Houmam Araj
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: arajh@mail.nih.gov
http://www.nei.nih.gov/funding/

Due to budgetary constraints, the NEI places its highest priority on providing funds for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and/or newly appointed faculty members to participate in meetings. As a rule, no NEI funding will be provided for speakers' fees or expenses.

William Darby
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: wwd@nei.nih.gov

 

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

Bettie J. Graham Ph.D.
Phone: 301-496-7531
Email: bettie_graham@nih.gov

The National Human Genome Research Institute is committed to disseminating the latest information and technologies through courses and conference grants. However, our investment in this type of research will be limited (in research areas and dollars) and will be targeted to areas that seek to increase the capabilities of US scientists, especially those who are seeking to significantly enhance their skills in research areas relevant to addressing the research issues described in the strategic plan. NHGRI supports a limited number of conferences and courses. Genomic and genetic science is now integrated into many areas of biomedical research. To maintain research focus and accommodate budget constraints, NHGRI must be highly selective when providing funds for conferences/courses. Highest priority in the strategic plan areas structure and biology of genomes, the biology of disease, and bioinformatics and computational biology will be on topics that advance the state of the art of genomics. For clinically-oriented conferences and courses, those with a prominent focus on the application of genomics to improving clinical care will receive the highest priority for consideration. Conferences in the area of ethical, legal and social implications of genomic research will also be supported. 

Monika Christman
Phone: 301-435-7860
Email: monika_christman@nih.gov

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Ms. Aroos Shafi
Phone: 301-594-4702
Email: NHLBI_R13@nhlbi.nih.gov
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/research/funding/r13

Due to budgetary constraints, the NHLBI is only accepting primary and secondary assignments on applications for the support of meetings directly related to heart, lung, blood, and sleep disorders and conditions.  All requests for permission to submit an application should include a listing of recent or upcoming meetings addressing the same or similar topics, if any, and the "value-added" by the proposed meeting. Typically, NHLBI provides nominal support for conferences between $5K and $10K.

Kevin Heath
Phone: 301-402-3840
Email: heathkj@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Dr. Robin Barr
Phone: 301-496-9322
Email: rb42h@nih.gov
http://www.nia.nih.gov/GrantsAndTraining/FundingOpportunities/r13.htm

Linda Whipp
Phone: 301-496-1472
Email: whippL@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Dr. Beata Buzas
Phone: 301- 443-0800
Email: bbuzas@mail.nih.gov
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/grant-funding/funding-opportunities/conference-grants

Judy Fox
Phone: 301-443-4704
Email: jfox@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Raushanah Newman
Phone: 240-669-2925
Email: newmanrau@niaid.nih.gov
http://www.niaid.nih.gov/researchfunding/sop/pages/conference.aspx

Raul Hernandez
Phone: 240-669-2957
Email: raul.hernandez@nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)

Chao Jiang, PhD
Phone: 301-594-8918
Email: chao.jiang@nih.gov

Leslie Littlejohn
Phone: 301-594-2545
Email: littlele@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Zeynep Erim
Phone: 301-451-4797
Email: erimz@mail.nih.gov
http://www.nibib.nih.gov/funding/funding-policies/
nibib-support-conferences-and-scientific-meetings

Florence Turska
Phone: 301 451-4782
Email: turskaf@mail.nih.gov

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Dr. Eugene Hayunga
Phone: 301-435-6856
Email: ehayunga@mail.nih.gov.
http://www.nichd.nih.gov/funding/mechanism/index.cfm

Bryan S. Clark
Phone: 301-435-6975
Email:  clarkb1@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Dr. Minna Liang
Phone: 301-827-5708
liangm@nida.nih.gov
Pam Fleming
Phone: 301-253-8729
Email: pfleming@nida.nih.gov

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

Dr. Judith Cooper
Phone: 301-496- 5061
Email: cooperj@mail.nih.gov
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/funding/types/Pages/confgrants.aspx

Christopher Myers
Phone: 301-435-0713
Email: myersc@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

Dr. Alicia Dombroski
Phone: 301-594-4800
Email: adombroski@mail.nih.gov
http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/GrantsAndFunding/
Types_of_Grants_Awarded_by_NIDCR/Funding
Mechanisms/SupportforMeetings.htm

Research contacts can be found at: http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/Research/DER/ContactRA.htm.

Diana Rutberg, MBA
Phone: 301-594-4798
Email: rutbergd@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

Dr. Brent Stanfield
Phone: 301-594-8843
Email: Stanfibr@niddk.nih.gov
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/research-funding/process/apply/about-funding-mechanisms/r13/Pages/default.aspx

Bob Pike
Phone: 301-594-8854
Email: pikera@niddk.nih.gov

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) 

Martha Barnes
Phone: 919-541-3336
Email: barnes@niehs.nih.gov
http://www.niehs.nih.gov/funding/grants/mechanisms/r13u13.cfm

Molly Puente, PhD
Phone:  919-541-1373
Email:  puentem@niehs.nih.gov

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

Dr. Ann Hagan
Phone: 301-594-4499
Email: hagana@mail.nih.gov
http://www.nigms.nih.gov/Research/Mechanisms/SupportScientificMeetings.htm

In general, NIGMS will only support meetings that fulfill all of the following characteristics:

  • Are closely aligned with NIGMS’ central mission and interests, and
  • Are non-recurring, and
  • Include participants who do not frequently interact in other venues.

NIGMS will also consider support for freestanding meetings that focus on research training and/or workforce development that do not fit within Innovative Programs to Enhance Research Training (IPERT) (R25). Applicants seeking support for integrated training-related activities, in addition to conference support, should consider IPERT.

Grace Olascoaga
Phone: 301-594-5520
Email: olascoag@nigms.nih.gov

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)

Kesi Williams
Phone: 301-435-0828
Email: kesi.williams@nih.gov

Priscilla Grant
Phone: 301-594-8412
Email: grantp@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Dr. Ernest Lyons
Phone: 301-496-9223
E-mail: lyonse@ninds.nih.gov
http://www.ninds.nih.gov/funding/NINDS_Guidelines.htm

James E. Washington
Phone: 301-496-7449
Email: washingj@ninds.nih.gov

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

For Clinical and Public Health Informatics:
Dr. Hua-Chuan Sim
Phone: 301-594-4882
Email: simh@mail.nih.gov
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/ep

For Bioinformatics and Translational Informatics
Dr. Jane Ye
Phone: 301-594-4882
Email: yej@mail.nih.gov

For Consumer Health Informatics
Dr. Alan VanBiervliet
Phone: 301-594-4882
Email: alan.vanbiervliet@nih.gov

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/ep/GrantConf.html

Dwight Mowery
Phone: 301-496-4221
Email:  moweryd@mail.nih.gov

Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP)

Dr. Franziska Grieder
Phone: 301-435-0744
Email: griederf@mail.nih.gov

The Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP) advances the NIH mission by supporting research infrastructure and research-related resource programs and by coordinating NIH’s science education efforts. ORIP’s high-priority thematic areas are: (1) developing models of human diseases; (2) accelerating research discoveries by providing access to state-of-the-art instrumentation; and (3) training and diversifying the biomedical workforce.


For models-oriented conferences and meetings, proposals to be considered must be applicable to the research interests of two or more categorical NIH Institutes/Centers (ICs). Applications that relate strictly to a specific disease or category of research will not be accepted and should be proposed to the appropriate categorical IC of the NIH. Furthermore, applications proposing conferences or scientific meetings that are related predominantly to the interest of one IC and only peripherally to the interests of other ICs are not acceptable.


For training and science education-oriented conferences and meetings, applications with a primary focus on veterinarian-scientists as translational researchers; workforce diversity and capacity building through pre-kindergarten through grade 12 (P-12) science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education; support of the Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) Program; and promotion of P-12 student interest in science will receive priority for consideration. These grants generally support only a portion of the entire cost of a conference or scientific meeting. Typically, ORIP provides nominal support for conferences between $5K and $10K.

 

 

Nyron Rouse
Phone: 301-435-0840
Email:  nyron.rouse@nih.gov

Office of Strategic Coordination
(Common Fund)

Dr. Patricia (Trish) Labosky
Phone: 301 594-4863
Email: laboskypa@od.nih.gov

Michael Morse
Phone: 301 435-5446
Email: morsem@mail.nih.gov

NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT participate in the Parent R13 Announcement: FIC, NIMH, NINR

NIH Institute/Center

Scientific/Research Contact

Financial or Grants
Management Contact

Fogarty International Center (FIC)

None

None

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

None

None

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

None

None