Logo National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural Research National Institutes of Health Logo
Grants and Funding
Academic Research Enhancement Award (Parent R15) (PA-10-070)
Contacts and Special Interests
Release Date: December 24, 2009
Expiration Date: November 3, 2011

R15 Participating Institutes and Centers

R15 Non-Participating Institutes and Centers
  • NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT use the R15 mechanism: FIC, NIMHD
NIH AREA Grant Research Objectives

NIH AREA Grant Research Objectives – Listing of AREA program research topics of particular interest to each Institute/Center.

Electronic Submission
Electronic Submission – NIH will require electronic submission of the SF424 (R&R) form through Grants.gov to NIH for all R15 grant applications. Institutions must register in two separate systems: Grants.gov and eRA Commons Project Directors/Principal Investigators also must be registered in eRA Commons.

NIH Institute and Center Contacts
NIH Institute/Center

Scientific/Research Contact

Financial or Grants
Management Contact

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)

Dr Partap S. Khalsa
Phone: 301-594-3462 

George Tucker
Phone: 301-594 9102  
FAX: 301-480-1552 
Email: tuckerg@mail.nih.gov

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Dr. Christopher L. Hatch
Phone: 301-594-1403
Email: ch29v@nih.gov

Crystal Wolfrey
Phone:  301-496-8634
FAX: 301-496-8601
Email: wolfreyc@mail.nih.gov

National Center for Research Resources (NCRR)

Dr. Miguel A. Contreras
Phone: 301-594-9410
Email: miguel.contreras@nih.gov


National Eye Institute (NEI)

Dr. Jerome Wujek
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: wujekjer@nei.nih.gov


National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

Dr. Bettie  J. Graham
Phone: 301-496 7531
Email: Bettie_graham@nih.gov

Cheryl Chick
Phone: 301- 435-7858
Email: chickc@mail.nih.gov

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Dr. Helena Mishoe
Phone: 301-451-5081
Email: mishoeh@nhlbi.nih.gov

Suzanne White
Phone: 301-435-0144
FAX: 301-480-3310
Email: whitesa@nhlbi.nih.gov

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

Dr. Robin Barr
Phone: 301-496-9322
Email: BarrR@mail.nih.gov

Linda Whipp
Phone: 301-496-1472
FAX: 301-402-3672
Email: whippL@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Dr. H. Joe Wang
Phone: 301-451-0747
Email: Wangh4@mail.nih.gov

Judy Fox
Phone: 301-443-4704
FAX: 301-443-3891
Email: jfox@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

NIAID AI Training Help Desk

Mary Ann Anderson-Garlic
Phone:  301-451-3680
FAX:  301-493-0597
Email:  mgarlic@niaid.nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)

Dr. Bernadette Tyree
Phone: 301-594-5055

Melinda B. Nelson 
Phone: 301-594-3535
Email: mn23z@nih.gov

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Zeynep Erim, PhD
Phone: 301-451-4797

Florence Turska
Phone: 301-451-4782
Email: turskaf@mail.nih.gov

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Center for Population Research
Dr. Florence P. Haseltine
Phone: 301-496-1101
Email: haseltif@mail.nih.gov

Center for Developmental Biology and Perinatal Medicine
Dr. A. Tyl Hewitt
Phone: 301-496-5541
Email: th119v@nih.gov

Center for Research for Mothers and Children
Dr. Gilman Grave
Phone: 301-496-5593
Email: graveg@mail.nih.gov

The National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research
Dr. Ralph M. Nitkin
Phone: 301-402-4206
Email: NitkinR@mail.nih.gov

Bryan S. Clark, M.B.A
Phone: 301-435-6975
FAX:    301- 451-5510
Email:  clarkb1@mail.nih.gov

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Dr. Teresa Levitin
Phone: 301-443-2755
Email: tl25u@nih.gov

Pam Fleming
Phone: 301-435-1369
FAX: 301-594-6849
E-mail: pfleming@nida.nih.gov


National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

Dr. Christopher Platt
Phone: 301-496-1804
Email: plattc@nidcd.nih.gov

Christopher Myers
Phone: 301-402-0909
FAX: 301-402-1758
Email: myersc@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

Dr. Alicia Dombroski
Phone: 301-594-4805
Email: adombroski@mail.nih.gov

Mary Daley
Phone: 301-594-4808
FAX: 301-480-3562
Email: md74u@nih.gov

National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

Dr. Brent Stanfield
Phone: 301-594-8834
Email: stanfibr@niddk.nih.gov


National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) 

Dr. Michael Humble
Phone: 919-316-4621
Email: humble@niehs.nih.gov

Dorothy Duke
Phone:  919-541-2749
FAX:  919-541-2860
Email:  duke3@niehs.nih.gov

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

Dr. Jean Chin
Phone: 301-594-2485
Email: chinj@nigms.nih.gov


National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Dr. Jean Noronha
Phone: 301-443-3367
Email: jnoronha@mail.nih.gov

Rebecca Claycamp, M.S., C.R.A.
Phone: 301-443-2811
FAX: 301-443-1956
Email: rclaycam@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Dr. Michelle Jones-London
Phone: 301-451-7966
Email: jonesmiche@ninds.nih.gov

James E. Washington, M.Ed.
Phone: 301-496-7449
FAX: 301-451-5635
E-mail: washingj@ninds.nih.gov

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

Dr. Paul A. Cotton
Phone: 301-402-6423
Email: cottonp@mail.nih.gov

Brian Albertini
Phone: 301-594-6869
FAX: 301-402-4502
Email: albertib@mail.nih.gov

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

For Clinical and Public Health Informatics:
Dr. Hua-Chuan Sim
Email: simh@mail.nih.gov

For Bioinformatics and Translational Informatics:
Dr. Jane Ye
Email: yej@mail.nih.gov

For Consumer Health Informatics:
Dr. Alan VanBiervliet
Phone: 301-594-1297
Email: alan.vanbiervliet@nih.gov

Dwight Mowery
Phone: 301-496-4221
FAX: 301-402-0421
E-mail:  moweryd@mail.nih.gov

NIH Institutes and Centers that DO NOT use the R15 mechanism: FIC, NIMHD

NIH Institute/Center

Scientific/Research Contact

Financial or Grants Management Contact

Fogarty International Center (FIC)



National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)



This page last updated on
Technical Issues: E-mail OER Webmaster